Nagaland is a hill state located in the far north-eastern part of India. It borders the state of Assam to the west, Arunachal Pradesh and part of Assam to the north, Burma to the east and Manipur to the south. The state capital is Kohima, and the largest city is Dimapur. With a population of nearly two million people, it has a total area of 6,401 sq mi (16,579 km²)—making it one of the smallest states of India.



* Dimapur

* Kohima

* Mokokchung

* Tuensang

* Wokha

* Zunheboto


The railway network in the state is minimal. Broad gauge lines run 7.98 miles (12.84 km), National Highway roads 227.0 miles (365.3 km), and state roads 680.1 miles (1,094.5 km). There is one airport in Dimapur and another is being planned for Kohima, the state capital.

The Nagaland city of Dimapur is on the Guwahati to Dibrugarh rail line and is well serviced by trains from Delhi, Howrah, and other important Indian cities.


Highways and towns served

National highways: 227.0 miles (365.3 km)

* NH-61: Kohima, Wokha, Tseminyu, Wokha, Mokokchung, Changtongya, Tuli

* NH-39: Dimapur-Kohima-Mao-Imphal (134.2 mi/216.0 km)

* NH-36: Dimapur-Doboka-Nagonan (105.6 mi/169.9 km)

* NH-150: Kohima-Jessami via Chakhabama-Pfutsero (74.6 mi/120.1 km)

* NH-153: Mokukchung-Jessami via Tuesang-Kiphire (206.9 mi/333.0 km)

State highways: 680.1 miles (1,094.5 km)

* Chakabama-Mokokchung Via Chazuba and Zunheboto

* Kohima-Meluri

* Mokokchung-Mariani

* Mokokchung-Tuensang

* Namtola-Mon

* Tuensang-Mon-Naginimora

* Tuensang-Kiphiri-Meluri

* Wokha-Merapani Road


Indian Airlines flies to Dimapur from Kolkata and Guwahati.


District(s)         11

Established       1963-12-01

Capital             Kohima

Largest city       Dimapur

Governor          Nikhil Kumar

Chief Minister   Shri. Neiphiu Rio

Legislature (seats)         Unicameral (60)


• Density          1,988,636 (24th)

• 120 /km2 (311 /sq mi)

Language(s)      Hindi, English

Time zone         IST (UTC+5:30)

Area     16,579 km2 (6,401 sq mi)

ISO 3166-2     IN-NL